Archive for January 4th, 2012

January 4, 2012

root cellar slaw

I am not the biggest fan of coleslaw… mainly because I HATE mayo and all whitey type dressings, so I have spent most of my life avoiding coleslaw and other picnic salads… but as my eating life flows with the seasons (and my pantry) now more than ever before I am trying to make the best of my root cellar veggies, and am working on creating salads from the pantry while taking a pass on the plastic packed spring mix salads.

This slaw is a lovely bright crunchy and fresh dish that doesn’t leave you longing for baby butter leaf. Not sure how it compares to traditional coleslaw, because I have never really eaten it before, but this is nice. I served it over brown rice with fried tofu and it was the perfect addition to a rice bowl.

Combine in a large bowl:

1/4 green cabbage sliced razor thin

1/2 red cabbage sliced razor thin

1 apple grated, pour 1/2 cup of lemon juice over apple right away

1 large carrot grated

a handful of fresh parsley

another  good squeeze of lemon juice and or apple cider vinegar

S+P

Dress with 1 cup + glory bowl dressing

Garnish with toasted and seasoned sunflower seeds

You can let this salad soak up dressing in the fridge for a while before serving (even overnight), Enjoy.