Archive for January 30th, 2012

January 30, 2012

hot and sour power

One of the things I miss most about city living is the delicious ethic food abundance! Back in my hometown of Calgary I miss Namskar my favorite Indian place, and Rea’s for Italian from scratch and the great service, Golden Bell for Pho, Borak for Turkish, and just about everywhere and anywhere in New York city for a slice of pizza pie or a bagel with a schmeer!

Out here in the bush I have to settled for home made ethnic everything shy of a very few mediocre Mexican / Japanese and Indian places all at least an hour from me! Some days I could kill for some veggie sauté soup and a bean curd springroll!

I just checked one of my readers blog voguevegatarian.com and was thrilled to find a hot and sour vegan soup recipe! Yumm, my mind was set on trying out her recipe at once. I have since made it twice, the first time I made the big mistake of subbing Braggs for light Soya sauce, and while my sweetie LOVED it and ate the whole pot.. it lacked authenticity for me… my mistake. Anyway’s this evening I took a crack at it again, and netting quiet possibly the best hot and sour soup I have ever had… well except for the soup on sizzling rice versions which I adore and miss dearly.

read more »